Thursday, 20 November 2014

Mini #Reviews : Books 7-9 of The Morganville Vampire Series by Rachel Caine

In October I went on a reading spree of The Morganville Vampire Books by Rachel Caine. You can check out my review of Glass House, book one in the series here & my mini reviews of books 2-6 in the series, here . Below is my mini reviews of books 7-9 of the series, there may be some spoilers, as they are just my thoughts on the series as a whole along with some thoughts on each book.
 
 
Fade Out (The Morganville Vampires, #7)
 
 
Fade Out ( The Morganville Vampire Series #6) by Rachel Caine
 
Rating: ✪✪✪✪.5
 
I really love this series. I love the characters, storyline, the twists and turns. However in Fade Out I felt the book dragged a tiny bit for a few chapters but then it got into the flow again, so I have decided to give it 4.5* rating.

A few thoughts on the series:

I like Shane and Claire together however, I always thought/felt from book one that it would have been Claire and Michael who got together.

In the end of Fade Out I am now worried Claire is going to become the next ADA and I don't know if she can really stop it happening.

I still am really enjoying this series and cant wait to read the next book!
 
 
Kiss of Death (The Morganville Vampires, #8)
 
 
Kiss Of Death (The Morganville Vampire Series #7) by Rachel Caine
 
Rating: ✪✪✪✪
 
So I have really been enjoying this series and I really did like Kiss Of Death, however I decided to give it a 4* rating as in this book the gang leave Morganville and head on a road trip that ends in trouble. Its a good story but I just didn't feel the super duper excitement I did in the other books. I think its because they left Morganville and I love all the additional characters in Morganville and the atmosphere wasn't the same. However I still really enjoyed it and cant wait to read the rest of the series.
 
 
Ghost Town (The Morganville Vampires, #9)
 
Ghost Town (The Morganville Vampires Book #9) by Rachel Caine
 
Rating: ✪✪✪✪
 
So I started this series a few weeks ago and have been reading each in the series however I feel that because I have kept reading the series book after book that it has lessened how much I am enjoying them thus why I am going to stop the series at book 9 and read some more books in between. Don't get me wrong I still love the series it just feels that after 9 books it is starting to go a little flat. A word of advise to anyone starting this series don't read them one after the other!                  
 
 
 
 
 


Wednesday, 19 November 2014

Waiting on Wednesday #20


 
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking The Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we're excitably anticipating.

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places


The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this compelling, exhilarating, and beautiful story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennif
er Niven.

Expected Publication: January 6th VIA Penguin

My Thoughts:

I want to read more YA contemporary in 2015 and I think this book sounds like a great first 2015 contemporary read of the year!



Tuesday, 18 November 2014

#Review Do You Speak English, Moon? by Francesca Simon & Ben Cort #Giveaway

Do You Speak English, Moon?

Book: Do You Speak English, Moon? 
Author: Francesca Simon
Illustrator: Ben Cort
Story Read By: Lenny Henry
Publisher: Orion Children's Books
Received copy for honest review
Rating: Story: ✪✪✪ Illustrations:✪✪✪✪✪  Audio: ✪✪✪✪

Blurb:

Do You Speak English, Moon? A little boy getting ready for bed looks up at the moon and wonders whether it can speak English as it shines all over the world. He tells the moon about his day - it's not lonely falling asleep when you share your day's adventures with the moon.

Review:

Do You Speak English, Moon? is a beautifully illustrated story for children aged 3-5 years. A little boy is getting ready for bed and decides to see if the moon can in fact speak English.  The little boy asks the moon loads of questions, only children ask. Children are always asking, " how", "what" and "why" and this is evident in the story. 

I loved the illustrations, there so bright and detailed, there is so much to see in each picture and will have children pointing out things and asking more questions. My favourite picture is a giant ice cream that is also a slide :)

Overall Do You Speak English, Moon is a great, colourfully illustrated story perfect for bedtime reading with your little ones! 

Audio Review:

With Do You Speak English, Moon? you get an audio CD of the story, read by Lenny Henry. I have never listened to an audio book before so I am know expert but I loved this audio book. When Lenny Henry is reading the story he really brings it too life. I loved that in between each question, for example "Can you see the sea? Can you see under the sea?" you hear the sound of the sea and it continues for each of the elements of the book and makes the story better. 

Do You Speak English, Moon? the book is great but the audio adds an extra element that children will want to hear again and again!

Giveaway:

x1 copy of Do You Speak English, Moon? 
Giveaway provided by publisher
Giveaway open to UK/Ire Only
Giveaway Ends: 30th November





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, 17 November 2014

Reluctant Prince Blog Tour: Dreamcast & #Giveaway

Reluctant Prince Tour Banner

Dreamcast!

Author Dani Lyn Alexander has picked who she would to like to play her leads in Reluctant Prince, if it was made into a movie. Dani Lyn Alexander picked:

Jackson Maynard played by Liam Hemsworth


Ryleigh Donnovan played by Chloe Moretz


*I do not own these images*

Blurb:


Reluctant Prince (Kingdom of Cymmera #1)
Betrayal lies cloaked in shadow.

Seventeen year old Ryleigh Donnovan is certain her life is cursed. Nothing ever goes smoothly, and her first job interview is no exception. An earthquake rocks the building, sending Ryleigh on a frantic search for her younger sister, a search which lands her in the hospital. Terrified they’ll push her for answers she can’t afford to give, Ryleigh flees with a mysterious stranger.

Jackson Maynard is about to be ordained as a Death Dealer, a warrior for the Kingdom of Cymmera, but first he must pass one more test. When he fails to acquire the human girl the prophet has chosen, he’s forced to stand trial for treason. Banished from his realm, he seeks out the girl from the vision, Ryleigh Donnovan, and together they embark on a journey to save his dying kingdom.
 



Dani Lyn Alexander Bio:
PictureDani-Lyn Alexander lives on Long Island with her husband, three kids and three dogs. She loves spending time with her family, at the beach, the playground, or just about anywhere. In her spare time, which is rare, she enjoys reading and shopping—especially in book stores. Some of her favorite things include; Bernese Mountain Dogs, musicals, bubble baths and soft blankets. She’s an incurable insomniac and has an addiction to chocolate.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, 15 November 2014

I heart.. Kelly Hashway- SUBMIT YOUR QUESTIONS



2015 is just around the corner and I am already looking forward to all the amazing new releases. Saying that in 2015 I want to highlight amazing authors that I love, and books that I have read, that have given me all the feels. 

This has developed into a new monthly feature called I heart... I will pick an author/book each month, to highlight and to have posts with this author on my blog throughout the month. The first author in January is author, Kelly Hashway. I have read Kelly's books and love them, I also love Kelly as a person, she is just awesome!

As part of the feature I'm taking questions from fans of Kelly and her work. Have you always had a burning question about the Touch of Death Series? Wondered why Kelly writes under two names (she also writes as Ashlyn Drake) Have you ever wondered what Kelly's favorite animal is? You can submit a question and Kelly might answer it!

You can leave a comment below with your question for Kelly or you can tweet your questions using the #IheartKelly 

Last day to submit a question is November 30th 2014. Check back on January 19th 2015 to see if Kelly answered your question!


Tuesday, 11 November 2014

#Review: Where Rainbows End by Cecelia Ahern

Where Rainbows EndBook: Where Rainbows Ends AKA Love Rosie
Author: Cecelia Ahern
Publisher: Harpertorch
Pages: 566
Bought Own Copy
Rating: ✪✪✪✪✪

Blurb:

Since childhood, Rosie and Alex have stuck by each other through thick and thin. But they're suddenly separated when Alex and his family move from Dublin to America.

Their magical connection remains but can their friendship survive the years and miles?

Misunderstandings, circumstances and sheer bad luck have kept them apart – until now. But will they gamble everything – including their friendship – on true love? And what twists and surprises does fate have in store for them this time ...
?


Review:

*Note: Where Rainbows End by Cecelia Ahern is the new motion picture Love Rosie *

I have read this book a few times and I still love it! Where Rainbows End is my favorite Ceceila Ahern book and one of my favorite books of all time.

I am a sucker for romance and this book is just the ultimate romance book.  You cheer these characters on you want them to succeed in everything they do. I loved that the book is all in letters and emails and that it spans over 50 odd years. I love books like this and it feels so personal like the characters are letting you into their lives by sharing their stories with you.

Where Rainbows End is a compelling love story of lost chances and shows that true love, the kinda love that gives you those perfect silences, will come back to you if its meant to be even if it takes 5 years or 50 years!

Monday, 10 November 2014

Discussion: New Adult Books

 
 
 
As all of you know who follow my blog I mostly read YA PNR with a touch of fantasy/sci-fi and dystopian thrown in. In 2015 I have some "book goals" , and one of them is to read some New Adult books. This is a genre that has grown quickly over the last few years and it's a genre many people seem to love. 
 
New Adult sits between YA and adult and I personally think it's a good way for me to go, rather than plunge into a lot more adult reads.
 
What are your thoughts on NA? Do you have any genre/sub genre you want to read more in 2015, let me know in the comments below! 
 
 
 
 
*I do not own any of the images*