Blogger Guest Post: Becca & Lis @ lost in Literature

Lost in Literature

When Megan @ Reading Away the Days contacted us regarding participating in a blogger swap on her blog, we thought the idea was super creative and that it would be a lot of fun.

 For our post today, sticking with the summery vibe, we both want to recommend a couple summery books to all of you.  First, a beach read we each loved so much, and secondly we'll each share a beach read that we're eagerly anticipating reading in the very near future.

 Thanks for stopping by and we hope you enjoy!

 ~ Becca & Lisa


 Becca's Picks:
 Recommended Read:
 A Summer book that I loved:
 Never Forget (Memories #1) by Emma Hart 
Never Forget (Memories, #1)
A city girl.
A small town boy.
A summer they'll never forget.

Spending the summer at her Grammy's in Lilac Bay, Devon, is city girl Alexis 'Lexy' Edwards idea of hell. That is, until she reconnects with her childhood friend, Jen, and meets Alec Johnson.

Alec is the kind of guy Lexy knows she needs to stay away from. He's the village flirt, ridiculously hot and very dangerous to her self control. But there's a problem – she can't seem to keep him out, even though she knows he'll break her heart.

As Alec slowly strips away Lexy's defenses and the two embark on a summer romance she never wanted, their feelings grow to more than either expected. But nothing lasts forever, and reality intrudes.

As her world is shaken to it's core, Lexy's self made prediction comes true when she discovers she's spent six weeks surrounded by secrets. Kept out by her family and the only guy she's ever trusted, she falls apart.

And when Grammy tells her that 'you might not end up where you wanted to be, but you'll always end up where you're meant to be,' she has to figure out if her meant to be is back home in London, or if it's been in Devon the whole time.

  My thoughts:

 Never Forget was such an adorable story. It has a very summery, breezy feel to it. The sleepy town of Devon and bech of Lilac Bay added to that warm feeling :)  I loved each of the characters Lexi and Alec were so fun and cute! Lexi's brother "Bing" and BFF Jen were a great dose of humor and Lexi's entire family was so lovable! Especially her Grammy, she stole my heart. I was surprised at the emotions this book brought out towards the end and it made it even more enjoyable! This is a fun, easy and heart warming Summer story and I highly recommend it!

Most Anticipating:
With this Heart by R.S Grey
With This Heart
If someone had told me a year ago that I was about to fall in love, go on an epic road trip, ride a Triceratops, sing on a bar, and lose my virginity, I would have assumed they were on drugs. 

Well, that is, until I met Beckham. 

Beck was mostly to blame for my recklessness. Gorgeous, clever, undeniably charming Beck barreled into my life as if it were his mission to make sure I never took living for granted. He showed me that there were no boundaries, rules were for the spineless, and a kiss was supposed to happen when I least expected. 

Beck was the plot twist that took me by surprise. Two months before I met him, death was knocking at my door. I'd all but given up my last scrap of hope when suddenly, I was given a second chance at life. This time around, I wasn't going to let it slip through my fingers. 

We set out on a road trip with nothing to lose and no guarantees of tomorrow. 

Our road trip was about young, reckless love. 

The kind of love that burns bright. 

The kind of love that no road-map could bring me back from. 

My Thoughts
Summer and a road trip?! This book sounds absolutely perfect! After reading the synopsis I immediately added this book to my TBR list. It seems sweet, passionate, edgy and of course... summery!! Not to mention I love the cover!

Lisa's Picks:
Recommended Read:
Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson
Published May 8th 2012 by Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
Second Chance Summer
 From the Flying Start author of Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, a powerful novel about hope in the face of heartbreak. 

Taylor Edwards’ family might not be the closest-knit—everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled—but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains.

Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actually gone anywhere. Her former best friend is still around, as is her first boyfriend…and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve.

As the summer progresses and the Edwards become more of a family, they’re more aware than ever that they’re battling a ticking clock. Sometimes, though, there is just enough time to get a second chance—with family, with friends, and with love.
 Lisa's Thoughts:
Second Chance Summer was one of my very favorite beach reads.  I think it has the perfect amount of summer fun, emotions and entertainment.  I think almost everyone will enjoy Second Chance Summer, no matter what your usual book genre may be.
Most Anticipating:
What I Though Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Published April 15th 2014 by Dial Books for Young Readers
 What I Thought Was True
From the acclaimed author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle has never so badly wanted to say good-bye to her island home till now: the summer her Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, takes a job there as the local yard boy. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-you-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti
Lisa's Thoughts:

I absolutely adored My Life Next Door.  H. Fitzpatrick's writing style was one that worked for me so well.  I recently purchased a copy of What I Thought Was True, and I hope to fit it into my schedule asap.

Find Us


No comments